Muscat, Oman

Under the patronage of

H.E. Salim Al Mahrouqi

Minister of Heritage and Tourism



The Honoring of the Team Members Behind the Success of the Conference

In a ceremony held on Sunday, April 21st, the heroes behind the seamless execution of a recent conference were duly recognized for their pivotal contributions. …

Read More →

The culmination of the international conference “Opportunities for Heritage” Closing Session

The culmination of the international conference “Opportunities for Heritage” was marked by the Closing Session, led by Dr. Heba Aziz, Conference President and UNESCO Chair …

Read More →

Advancing Heritage Preservation: Day Two Highlights from the “Opportunities for Heritage” Conference

The second day of the “Opportunities for Heritage” international conference on 25 February 2024 at the German University of Technology in Oman was rich with …

Read More →

Exploring Oman’s Heritage: A Journey Through Time at the ‘Opportunities for Heritage’ Conference Field Trip

During the third day of the international conference, “Opportunities for Heritage”, participants embarked on a full-day field trip to explore Oman’s rich cultural heritage sites, …

Read More →

Preserving the Past, Envisioning the Future: Innovative Approaches to Cultural Heritage at the International Conference

The final day of the conference was filled with a fascinating panel discussion on Initiatives of “Excellence in Culture and Heritage”, as well as scientific …

Read More →

The official Opening of the International Conference “Opportunities for Heritage” takes place at GUtech University

Saturday, 24 February 2024, marked the official opening of the international conference, “Opportunities for Heritage”, taking place at the German University of Technology in Oman, …

Read More →

Important Dates

September 1, 2023

Abstract submission deadline

September 1, 2023

September 5, 2023

Abstract acceptance notification

Authors having abstracts accepted should submit a full paper.

September 5, 2023

December 15, 2023

Abstract submission deadline (special extension)

December 15, 2023

December 16, 2023

Abstract acceptance notification

Authors having abstracts accepted should submit a full paper.

December 16, 2023

September 10, 2023

Opening submission of full papers

September 10, 2023

September 15, 2023

Conference registration opens

September 15, 2023

December 15, 2023

End of Early Bird registration

December 15, 2023

December 31, 2023

Full paper submission deadline

December 31, 2023

January 10, 2024

Paper acceptance notification

Authors having papers accepted should register for the conference.
January 10, 2024

February 1, 2024

End of registration

February 1, 2024

February 24-27, 2024

Conference dates

All participants should register for the conference.
February 24-27, 2024

Guest Speakers

H.E. Shaikha Mai Al-Khalifa

Founder and Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Shaikh Ebrahim bin Mohammed Al-Khalifa Center for Culture and Research​

Eng. Samih Sawiris

Founder and president of Orascom Development​

Alessio Re

Secretary General, Fondazione Santagata for the Economics of Culture- Italy

Ahmed Al Mukhaini

Oman Culture and Heritage expert

Dr. Stefano Dominioni

Executive Secretary, Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes - Council of Europe (EPA) Director, European Institute of Cultural Routes (EICR)

Dr. Mervat Abdel Nasser

Founder & director of New Hermopolis

Alessandra Peruzzetto

Regional Director, Middle East and North Africa at World Monuments Fund

Valéry Freland

Executive Director, International alliance for the protection of heritage in conflict ares (ALIPH)

Ahdaf Soueif

Author, Founder & Chair Palestine Festival of Literature

Dr. Rafia Ghubash

Professor of psychiatry
, Founder of woman’s museum- Dubai

Ammar Kessab

Principal Regional Governance Coordinator, African Development Bank



German University of Technology in Oman

Muscat,  Oman

Organizing Committees

Dr Heba Aziz

Prof. Heba aziz

Conference President, UNESCO Chair holder and Director of Arab Regional Centre for World Heritage

Ms. Fatma Alhusaini (GUtech)

Osman Barghouth

Prof. Osman Barghouth (GUtech, Co-chair and Head)

Ms. Khansa Mokdad (Committee Coordinator)

Members of the scientific committee

  • Heba Aziz (GUtech)
  • Mario Santana (Carleton University)
  • Nevenka Čavlek (University of Zagreb)
  • Hanan Kattara (Alexandria University)
  • Dina Ezz Eldin (Alexandria University)
  • Islam Salem (University of Technology and Applied Sciences)
  • Heba Saad (Alexandria University)
  • Nasser Al-Jahwari (Sultan Qaboos University)
  • Ercan Agirbas (GUtech)
  • Nabil Sahli (GUtech)
  • Ona Vileikis Tamayo (University College London)
  • Yasmine Souissi (GUtech)
  • Dawood Al Jahwari (GUtech)
  • Amina Al Balushi (Ministry of Heritage and Tourism)
  • Hamed Almuhrzi (Oman Tourism College)
  • Yaqoob AL-Busaidi (Sultan Qaboos University)
  • Nour Allah Munawar (Doha Institute for Graduate Studies)
  • Mounir Bouchenaki (ALIPH Foundation)
  • Akram Lilja (ICOMOS-ICORP Committee)
  • Ahmed Al Mukhaini (Capital Market Authority)
  • Mr. Mohammed Salama (GUtech)

Dr. Dawood Al Jahwari (GUtech, Head)

Members of the logistic committee

  • Jokha Al Saqri
  • Hind Jaafar
  • Al Harith Al Noufali
  • Nitto Tobby
  • Umaima Al Zadjali
  • Fatma Al Hussaini
  • Rosemarie Yambot
  • Marya Al Balushi
  • Muzon Al Masruri
  • Abigail Yap

Mr. Mohammed Arif (GUtech, Head)

Members of the Finance and Fundraising Committee

  • Heba Aziz
  • Fatma Al Hussaini
  • Yasmine Souissi
  • Danijela Ciberlin
  • Ramas Al Jaafari
  • Rawan Hani Suleiman
  • Noora Mohamed
  • Ms. Marya Al Balushi

Ms. Laila Al-Yafi (Head)

Members of the Media and Communication Committee

  • Heba Aziz
  • Nabil Sahli
  • Najma Al Sherooqi
  • Monika Zugcic
  • Yousuf Al Darwishi
  • Fatma Al Balushi